What’s Cookin’: Stuffed Artichokes

I’m not entirely sure I like artichokes, but I don’t dislike them either. I do enjoy spinach artichoke dip with gobs and gobs of cheese. I don’t think I’ve ever had artichokes any other way. So when I sat this recipe I was intrigued, plus I already had all the ingredients….all I needed to buy was an artichoke.I only made one and it was plenty for two to share as a little appetizer.  I didn’t feel like making clarified butter so I didn’t, but I think I will try this recipe again.

(per usual I started eating before I thought to take a photo, so one of the artichoke and one of all the leaves I had already eaten)

Stuffed Artichokes

Source: How Sweet Eats

4 artichokes

1/4 cup olive oil + 1 tablespoon

1/4 cup butter

1/3 cup panko bread crumbs

3 peeled garlic cloves

1/4 cup parmesan cheese

salt & pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 375.

Cut stems off of artichokes. Place upside down in a large pot and fill with water. Boil for 20 minutes. Artichokes should be submerged in water, so you may need to place a bowl or other object on top.

Remove artichokes from pot. Let drain upside down for 10 minutes. Cut off the top 1/2-1 inch of artichoke. Trim remaining leaf tips if sharp.

In a small saucepan, heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil and 1/8 cup butter. Add chopped garlic, bread crumbs, salt, pepper, and any other fresh herbs or seasons you desire. Stir until mixture comes together. It will most likely be dry, so add the remaining oil and butter. Add in the parmesan cheese, a squirt of freshly squeezed lemon juiced, and stir until lightly golden brown.

Pull apart artichoke leaves and spoon mixture evenly inside. Place artichokes in a baking dish and add 1 inch of water to the bottom.

Bake for 15 minutes uncovered. Place foil over the artichokes and bake another 25 minutes.

Serve with clarified butter and a dish to discard leaves.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

