I wonder what the neighbors think…

For the past 6 weeks I have embarked on a mission of a crazy woman but before I explain further I must give some background. I have been employed with the same retail company since I was a senior in high school…we shall call this company 3377.  When my lease was up in Muncie in July and I had no professional job prospects I found myself a bit relieved to know that I could continue to work the same job with 3377. It has always been easy and flexible and a truly enjoy the employee discount. One week into working full time for 3377 I find out that this particular branch is going to have a complete facelift (which is considered an honor because it is only one of 50 stores in the nation being redone–so I am told).

It is at this point insanity comes knocking on this girl’s door. I was asked if I would be willing to try out the night shift 9pm to 6am Sunday-Thursday. I weighed my options for half a minute— this would give me days free to job search and the weekends off to see my boyfriend and I could wear PJs to work. OK! I will do it!

I am now in week 6 of this schedule and I think it beginning to take it’s toll. As I parked my car outside the house this morning I had to laugh as one of my neighbors walked by. I can only imagine what they think I am doing from the hours of 9pm to 6am. Perhaps they think I am a call girl a’la Audrey Hepburn–though I don’t think Audrey ever left the house in oversized sweats and a grungy t-shirt.

I know I will never know what they are thinking when I am about to go to bed and they are walking their dog enjoying their morning latte but it is fun to consider.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

