for the love of soup.

yes. I love soup. Even in the summer. My 2011 goal to try two new recipes a month has started with soup. Cooking soup for one means I have plenty of left-overs for lunches which is quite convenient to grab as I run out the door in the morning praying that I don’t have to scrape my windshield.

This is the recipe I tried out. Except I forgot the parsley and I used some dry raviolis from Trader Joes instead of frozen ones oh and I used Italian sausage instead of ground beef (because I forgot ground beef however — I think Italian sausage has a better flavor anyways).

Ravioli Soup

1 pound ground beef
1/4 cup soft bread crumbs
1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
3/4 teaspoon onion salt
2 teaspoons minced garlic (2 cloves)
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 1/2 cups finely chopped onion
1 – 28 oz can of crushes tomatoes in puree
1 – 6 ounce can of tomato paste
1 – 14.5 ounce can beef broth or bouillon
1 cup water
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon dried basil
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
1/4 cup fresh parsley
1 – 12 ounce bag of frozen ravioli

Brown ground beef. Combine all ingredients except ravioli. Bring to a boil. Simmer for 30 minutes. Cook ravioli according to package directions and add to soup. Sprinkle with some extra parmesan cheese.  Serves 6.

It turned out quite delicious, next time I may do a 14 oz can of tomatoes in puree and a 14 oz can of normal tomatoes to have a soup that is a little thicker.

I am sure this would have been delicious with some home-made bagel bread fresh from the bread machine but, unfortunately it smelled good but turned out burnt and rock hard on the bottom. Yikes.

So there you have it 2 recipes tried one fantastic and one that was not stellar. Oh and I used my bread machine so check that one off the list. But maybe I should change my goal to “Use bread machine once a month”. I found a recipe for herb focaccia that I hope will be more successful.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

