Me & Mrs. Lindbergh

After opting not to read the Bell Jar, I went to the library and picked up a copy of Gift from the Sea by Anne Morrow Lindbergh, a book completely different than the Bell Jar. This is a book that was recommended to me way back in October or maybe it was September I don’t remember. It is an excellent book and a quick read.

These are some of the little nuggets of truth and comfort I have learned from Mrs. Lindbergh:

“The most exhausting thing in life, I have discovered, is being insincere. That is why so much of social life is exhausting, one is wearing a mask.”

“All living relationships are in the process of change, of expansion, and must be perpetually building themselves new forms. But there is no single fixed form to express such a changing relationship.”

“Woman must come of age by herself. This is the essence of “coming of age” – to learn not to depend on another, nor to feel she must prove her strength by competing with another. In the past, she has swung between these two opposite poles of dependence and competition, of Victorianism and Feminism. Both extremes throw her off balance; neither is the center, the true center of being a whole woman, She must find her true center alone. She must become whole.”

“For we are, actually, pioneers trying to find a new path through the maze of traditions, convention and dogma.”

“When you love someone you do not love them all the time, in exactly the same way, from moment to moment. It is an impossibility. It is even a lie to pretend to. And yet this is exactly what most of us demand. We have so little faith in the ebb and flow of life, of love, of relationships. We leap at the flow of the tide and resist the terror of its ebb. We are afraid it will never return. We insist on permanency, on duration, on continuity; when the only continuity possible, in life as in love, is growth, in fluidity – in freedom.”

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Me & Mrs. Lindbergh

  1. felicialauer

    Hey Olivia it is so great to hear from you, and yes of course I remember you from back in the day! I have been browsing your blog for the last little while and have really enjoyed a lot of the things you have to say. It sounds like we have both had some unexpected challenges since college(I broke my back two years ago and have been partially disabled since then and I have been battling kidney disease and kidney stones), and I had to smile reading that we watch a lot of the same TV shows to escape from real-life drama.

    I’m glad to hear you enjoyed that recipe and put your own twist on it- that’s what I love to do and what I hope my readers will do, for great food is born out of taking a recipe as a starting point and making it your own.

    I’ll look forward to reading more of your posts- I especially like your Happy Sunday Bible verses. Hope to hear from you soon!
    Felicia

Leave a Reply

