Five is the Magic Number

Tijuana will be my 5th mission trip. I expect something wholly different out of this experience. This journey will be part healing, part passion, and part relationship building … at least that is what I’m thinking.

I began taking mission trips when I was in 6th grade. Young right? My first trip was to Tennessee with my youth group, trips to Minnesota and New York followed. These trips mostly consisted of helping with Vacation Bible School and doing odds and ends around the community. All my friends went and that was all the reason I needed to sign up.

In between my freshman and sophomore year of college I went to Alaska for a mission trip with my Dad.

I was the youngest woman in attendance.

It felt different than my other trips, real and connected.

The men in the group helped build a new dormitory at Alaska Christian College and the women organized and took inventory of the library. For a week I swam in the beauty that is Alaska and was really able to appreciate a true adult mission trip experience.

Plans for Tijuana are slowly unfolding and it’s exciting.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

