What’s Cookin’ : Oriental Hot Slaw

I went to the grocery store every day last week. Treacherous. I always seemed to forget something or get so frustrated by my inability to find a key ingredient that I stormed out with nothing in hand. I drove all over town looking for the ingredients for this recipe. When trips to 5, yes 5 grocery stores yielded no results for illusive hot chili oil, I phoned a friend. That is how bad I wanted to make this salad. I got this recipe from a co-worker and sent her a desperate text asking to borrow her hot chili oil.

This salad is amazing, a great side to a boring lunch or a lunch all on it’s own. The ingredients are an investment, just telling you now. But they will likely last for several batches. and really, who does not love a recipe that includes Ramen Noodles? I know many friends that were introduced to this delicacy in college, Ramen Noodles and I go way back to the days when I would call it curly soup.

Oriental Hot Slaw
Source: My Lovely Co-Worker Ashley S.

Combine:   1 package shredded cabbage and 8 green onion (chopped)

Dressing:
4 Tbsp. sugar
3 tsp  pepper
2 tsp. salt
1/4 cup rice vinegar
3/4 cup veg. oil
4 Tbsp sesame oil
2 Tbsp hot chili oil

Mix dressing and add to cabbage mixture

Marinate overnight in closed container.  Next day break up  3 packages chicken flavored Ramen noodles.(dry, not cooked) and then add the seasoning packets.

Add 4oz. slivered almonds and 4 Tbsp sesame seeds (when I realized I didn’t have almonds I decided to omit them, I refuse to take one more trip to the store)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

