The Day I Jumped Out of a Plane

I’m not and adventure girl.

I over think things on a daily basis. DAILY.

So when my friend Tom asked if I wanted to go sky-diving, on a whim I said yes. Having been on the boat trip with me and seeing that I’m not too daring,  I think Tom was surprised that I said yes – heck I was surprised I said yes given my complete fear of heights and hatred of roller coasters – how on earth could sky-diving appeal to me.

I’m not a girl defined by adventure, but that does not mean that I can’t do something wild and crazy and completely unexpected. Lots of times people put you in a box of who they think you are, and we put ourselves in those boxes too – and every once and awhile it’s refreshing to take a step outside yourself.

What can I say sometimes you have to take a leap of faith – through the door of a plane or perhaps something a little less literal – yes it may be terrifying but there is also excitement on the other side.

It’s taken me a couple days to write this post because I still could not really believe I did this – let alone so calmly. I was completely collected throughout this process (also very unlike me). I had a slight panic moment when they opened the door for all of us to jump out, but at that point I couldn’t really change my mind and we were out the door before I could even verbalize my fear.

The first three to five seconds were terrifying as I realized… HOLY SHEET I’m falling through the air toward the ground.  After the initial shock I was able to turn the fear and the over-thinking off – stretch out my arms and surrender to the quick fast breeze of cool air and the experience that in all reality I would probably only have once.

The free fall went quickly and after my tandem pulled the chute we made out way gracefully to the ground overseeing all the amazing fall colors. It really was the perfect day to go sky-diving.

Am I glad I did it? Absolutely. Would I recommend you do it? If you have ever had a desire to – go for it – it’s not nearly as scary as you think.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

